Neat D&D Products this year?
Posted by heychadwick

Hi,

This is my first year at GenCon and I'm told that some companies often release really cool things to buy in the vendor halls.  I play D&D 5th Ed with my son (and his friends) and am not quite mainstream with what's going on in the game.  Since I've never been and I'm not in touch with what's going on with the community....does anyone know of anything really cool that there is to buy at GenCon?  I'm thinking something new or perhaps I can't get anywhere else?  Or a good deal?   Minis?  Some sort of map system?  Dice tower?   Anything?    

I'm going to be running X-wing events all weekend and won't be able to attend any D&D games, but I'll get to hit the vendor hall early.  

Thanks for anything!

Posted by quarex

Probably not?  Just a guess based on Wizards of the Coast's minimal presence these days.  Plenty of D&D games going on, but they are being run by a third party, so probably no cool new goodies to pick up.

Posted by jedikitty

I know Gale Force 9 sells D&D stuff so I'd definitely check their booth! I'm hoping they'll have their decks of spells cards for sale.

Posted by mvotruba

Hey there, sorry for the late response, but here are a couple things that may (or may not) catch your eye for D&D:

Chessex dice booth.  I know I already have more dice than I need, and I STILL buy more from their booth.  Also, Chessex has great battle mats.  Often they bring their "factory seconds" which are cheaper, and to be honest, the smudges are minimal...totally worth looking into if you play D&D with minis.

There are vendors that sell loose D&D minis, so you may want to see if you find a few to fit your current campaign.